Online therapies during covid

I’m needing some advice please. Does anyone have any knowledge regarding the accessing of online therapies, for example music therapy, during covid, in the absence of being able to attend actual face to face sessions.
Are these online sessions as beneficial as face to face sessions?
Also have people found that therapies have been cancelled completely during the pandemic rather than being offered on line services?
I am being asked to explore access to therapies during the pandemic for one of our LD funded service users and we need to be seen as being fair and equitable in terms of what others are receiving, or not, during this time.
Many thanks in anticipation.

1 Like

Hello, I am a speech and language therapist in community adults with learning disabilities. Our multi-disciplinary team have been offering assessments and consultations where possible via video since the start of the pandemic. Where this doesn’t work, i.e. due to client’s not having access to video calling, lack of appropriate support, or risks not being able to be managed via video (e.g. high risk eating and drinking clients) we go see them in person in full PPE. I personally would say face-to-face is the optimum but in some cases video calling is better, e.g. if it is important that the person can see your face which is not possible when wearing PPE. I know of other services who have done conversation groups online and paediatric therapists who have done more targeted therapy online so it is possible and definitely better than no therapy at all.